RECAP: Lady Bulldogs blanked at Harrisburg tourney

Lucas named to all-tournament squad


For the Carmi Chronicle

It was a long week for Clinton Wolff’s Lady Bulldog basketball team as Carmi-White County went 0-4 at the Harrisburg Lady Bulldog Preview Tournament. CWC fell to Eldorado, West Frankfort, Anna-Jonesboro, and tourney champion Harrisburg.

Eldorado 57, CWC 48 (Monday, Nov. 25)

The Lady Eagles, utilizing a vicious three-point shooting attack, led by as many as 24 points midway through the third quarter, but CWC made it close in the final quarter.

Trailing 49-34 heading into the final stanza, the Lady Bulldogs jumped on Eldorado at the start of the fourth quarter with a 10-0 run to cut the deficit to five at 49-44. However, the Lady Eagles utilized penetration in the lane offensively and free throws to keep the maroon and white from pulling off the come-from-behind win.

Sydney Lucas (22 points) and Elleigh Gray (ten points) were the only Lady Bulldogs to get into double digits in the scoring column. 

West Frankfort 35, CWC 32 (Tuesday, Nov. 26)

CWC had a rough shooting night (30 percent) from the field offensively, but the Lady Bulldog defense gave the maroon and white every opportunity to win the game against former CWC coach Tracy Steed’s Lady Redbirds.

The Lady Canines trailed 25-24 heading into the final eight minutes, but WF held off CWC for the win.

Lucas and Mariah VanMatre scored eight points apiece to lead the Lady Bulldogs. 

Harrisburg 58, CWC 24 (Wednesday, Nov. 27)

Senior experience and pressure gave CWC problems from the opening tip and the maroon and white Lady Bulldogs never got into the contest, as they trailed 35-14 by halftime.

Jessica Smith led CWC with nine tallies.

Anna-Jonesboro 43, CWC 23 (Saturday, Nov. 30)

In the tournament finale for the Lady Bulldogs, the offensive struggles continued against the Lady Wildcats as CWC turned the ball over 15 times, resulting in 20 points for AJ.

Lucas and Greyson Huff paced CWC in the scoring column with six points each.

Lucas was named to the all-tournament team at the conclusion of the tourney.