The Lady Bulldogs were co-champions of the Lady Wildcat Doubles Invitational on Saturday, August 31. It was the third consecutive year that CWC had won the event. From left to right, head coach Chris Courty, Kadee Milligan, Kaeli Burchfield, Jasmine Smith, Marie Blankenberger, Liberty Smith, Meagan Healy, Kendall Rooney, Heidi Trout, Hannah Lueke, and assistant coach Patricia Trout. 

At the beginning of the season, the Carmi-White County girls’ tennis team decided one of the team’s goals was to defend their doubles’ title at the Lady Wildcats Doubles Invitational at Marion.

On Saturday, August 31, the Lady Bulldogs marked that goal off their list, as both CWC and Marion were crowned co-champions of the four-team round-robin event. It marked the third consecutive year that head coach Chris Courty’s squad has placed first at the tournament.

The Lady Canines had two teams win their bracket, while the other two placed second. The pairings of Jasmine Smith and Hannah Lueke (#2 doubles) and Liberty Smith and Kadee Milligan (#3 doubles) both went 3-0 on the day to win their respective divisions, while the #1 doubles (Marie Blankenberger/Kaeli Burchfield) and #4 doubles team of Heidi Trout and Kendall Rooney placed second with records of 2-1.

Earlier in the week, CWC opened the season Monday, August 26, by defeating Salem 9-0, but lost to Benton 8-1 on Thursday, August 29.


CWC 4, Mt. Vernon 0

#1 – Blankenberger/Burchfield (CWC) def. Maxey/Montgomery; 6-2, 6-3

#2 – J. Smith/Lueke (CWC) def. Barban/Young; 6-1, 7-5

#3 – L. Smith/Milligan (CWC) def. Launay/Fisher; 6-0, 6-0

#4 – Trout/Rooney (CWC) def. Williams/Bevis; 6-0, 6-4

CWC 4, Herrin 0

#1 – Blankenberger/Burchfield (CWC) def. Blake/Nesler; 6-1, 6-3

#2 – J. Smith/Lueke (CWC) def. Weber/Hale; 6-3, 7-6

#3 – L. Smith/Milligan (CWC) def. Jordan/Franklin; 6-1, 6-2

#4 – Trout/Rooney (CWC) def. Waybright/Grist; 7-6, 4-6, 6-4

CWC 2, Marion 2

#1 – Szidik/Bruce def. Blankenberger/Burchfield (CWC); 6-2, 6-2

#2 – J. Smith/Lueke (CWC) def. Graham/Arnold; 6-3, 6-2

#3 – L. Smith/Milligan (CWC) def. Diederich/Watson; 5-7, 6-2, 6-2

#4 – Riechert/Arnold def. Trout/Rooney (CWC); 6-2, 6-2